January Blues

18 Jan

Well we are over half way through January which means we’re almost there…yes we’ve almost beaten the January blues!

This year seems to have hit me harder than usual but don’t worry because I am going to share a few ideas with you on how to make it through this dreary month.

Detox

image

So you’ve consumed a little too much over the festive period, didn’t we all!
In the first week of January, my boyfriend and I took the 3 Day Detox Challenge set by Jason Vale.
I had never done anything like it before so I  thought it was maybe time to try the challenge. It sounded so simple but believe me it was extremely difficult. You can download the app and find out more information about it here.
The app was great as it gives you all the ingredients, recipes and encouragement you need to get you through.
I have two tips after taking part…
1. Watch the videos! Jason’s energy is contagious and trust me after day 2 you’ll need it.
2. Take a trip to Aldi! The shopping list is long and therefore can cost a lot. Aldi has a brilliant selection of fruit and veg for low cost prices.

Sales
Working in retail, I know the true meaning of the word ‘sale’. Not only is January a time to grab a bargain piece of furniture or that coat you’ve been pining over all winter but restaurants are jumping on the band wagon too. A lot of restaurants will have vouchers and offers on to get you out and about this month. If you’re not detoxing or feel like a treat then shop around to see what your local eateries have to offer. How could you say no?

Books
One of my new years resolutions is to read more. My first read of the year is Pretty Honest by Sali Hughes, a Christmas present from one of my very good friends. If you’re into beauty then this is the book for you! She tackles every aspect of beauty from skin types to resisting the temptation to buy what you don’t need.

Fitness
If the gym isn’t for you then why not splash out on a fitness DVD instead? It’s loads cheaper and if you only do it a couple of times there isn’t that dreaded direct debit showing up on your bank statement every month. I’ve gone for Charlotte Crosby’s 3 Minute Belly Blitz. There are 12 work outs which are only 3 minutes long! I like it because with the short times there’s always room for one more!

What do you do to beat the January blues?

Leave a Reply

